She was built in 1939 at Bayport, Minnesota by St. Croix Shipbuilders for the St. Paul District Corps of Engineers to support dredging operstions for the cutterhead dredge William A. Thompson.
Last of three identical dredge tenders she was originally named Joseph Throckmorton, for an upper Mississippi River pioneer. Sold at surplus auction in the 1990's she went into private ownership. Donated to a non-profit in 2004, sold to the current owner in 2005.
A 10 year restoration project to operational condition was completed in 2014.
She's 42' long, 12' wide, with a 32" draft.
Powered by a single Detroit Diesel 8V71 rated at 265 HP.
She frequents festivals and other events to showcase the importance of the Inland Waterways and waterbourne commerce.
She is open to tours by appointment.